The set-up of local and regional divisions of the Court of First Instance of the Unified Patent Court (UPC) was confirmed in a meeting of the Administrative Committee of the UPC on 8 July 2022.

These divisions will be located in:

  • Austria (Vienna)
  • Belgium (Brussels)
  • Demark (Copenhagen)
  • Finland (Helsinki)
  • France (Paris)
  • Germany (Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Mannheim, Munich)
  • Italy (Milan)
  • The Netherlands (The Hague)
  • Slovenia (Ljubljana)
  • Portugal (Lisbon)
  • Sweden (Stockholm).

Although not yet confirmed, it is likely that that the sunrise period to the Unitary Patent will commence in winter 2022.  The UPC is expected to open early in 2023.